Fast User Switching is a Windows feature enabled by default that… — Windows OS Hub for SysAdmins — TG.ME

👥 Fast User Switching is a Windows feature enabled by default that allows multiple users to share the same computer without requiring the current user to sign out before another user can log in. Switching between users takes only a few seconds, while all open apps and documents in the previous session continue running in the background. Naturally, these disconnected user sessions continue to consume system resources.

⚙️ Although Windows doesn’t provide a way to completely disable multi-user functionality, you can hide the Fast User Switching entry points from the user interface. This can be done by enabling the Hide entry points for Fast User Switching GPO option under Computer Configuration -> Administrative Templates -> System -> Logon

Or, you can enable the corresponding HideFastUserSwitching registry value:

reg add "HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\System" /v "HideFastUserSwitching" /t REG_DWORD /d "1" /f

This policy hides:
🔹 Other user accounts from the Start menu
🔹 The list of users who are currently logged-in in from the Windows sign-in screen when the computer is locked
🔹 The Switch user option on the security screen opened with Ctrl + Alt + Del

✅ How to Turn Off Fast User Switching via Group Policy or Registry in Windows
🔥7👍3❤2
August 19, 2026 585 8